Advertisements

Is Jello gluten free? The answer is yes, but be careful!

By | February 29, 2024

Jello is a gluten-free gelatin product. It’s made from ground corn and rice, as well as ice and water. In other words, it’s much different than regular Jell-O.
That being said, the product has been known to contain gluten. Check the ingredients label if you’re buying a box of Jello for your next big gathering; if it contains wheat or gluten-containing products, don’t buy it! You can still have fun and be healthy with this option though! Read on for more information about Jello Gluten Free and its differences from regular jello.

Is Jello gluten free? The answer is yes, but be careful!

Jello is gluten free… which means it’s great for people with celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or other gluten-related disorders. However, if you are a regular Jello consumer and aren’t aware of the possible risks that come with that label “gluten-free”, then you might want to take heed. For starters, do not purchase JellO if it contains wheat. This is because there could be traces of flour in the gelatin product. The gluten in flour can make people with celiac disease feel sick and even have them experience intestinal damage. In fact, some celiac sufferers have such severe abdominal pain from Wheat that doctors may suggest a strict elimination diet to help them recover from the condition. That being said, keep reading to discover everything you ever wanted to know about this popular brand of dessert! You might just discover that your next batch is 100% safe!

Advertisements

What is gluten? And how can it harm me?

Gram naturally occurring in beans, grains, and many legumes, gluten is a major component of our diets. It can be found in many processed foods such as pizza dough, cakes, pastries,Google Noodles, and many other common items. While most people have tiny traces of gluten in their bodies due to consuming gluten-containing foods over time, it’s possible to have a strong reaction to gluten that could lead to a condition called gluten-related autoimmune diseases. This group of diseases primarily affects people of Northern Europe, Asia, and Australia.

Are all JellO’s gluten free?

Unfortunately, no. Many gluten-free foods contain wheat flour, and JellO products are no exception. Additionally, most popular JellO flavors contain corn syrup and sugar which are also wheat free. However, certain flavors, like Orange Julius, contain no corn syrup whatsoever. So, if you are concerned about the gluten in your JellO, make sure it is certified gluten-free. Additionally, most grocery and specialty stores sell certified gluten-free products, so it is easy to know if a product contains gluten.

Should you be concerned about your JellO?

While the majority of people with celiac disease will experience a normal amount of digestive symptoms after consuming a certain amount of gluten, a small percentage of people may develop a life-threatening condition called anaphylaxis. This is a life-threatening condition that occurs when the body’s immune system attacks its own tissues. While anaphylaxis is rare, it is possible for people to have an extreme and potentially life-threatening reaction to small amounts of gluten. You can protect yourself by avoiding eating certain foods that may contain gluten: egg yolks, shellfish (including all forms of fish and shellfish), peanuts, and foods with a long list of other chemicals and allergens.

Advertisements

What is the difference between jello and gluten free JellO?

The main difference between Jello and gluten free JellO is that with gluten free JellO, the gelatin is not cross-contaminated by other ingredients like it is with Jello. Additionally, there are many more substitute options for water in gluten free JellO compared to regular JellO. The only downside of this is that certain flavors are missing, such as Strawberry Shortcake and Strawberry Shortcake Surprise. Also, there could be a higher chance of stomach upset, although this is more common with gluten free JellO.

Is there a way to tell if a product is gluten free?

Unfortunately, no. There are no lab test to tell if a product is or isn’t gluten free. All products are presumed to be gluten free unless proven otherwise. Some companies use a “cross-check” process to ensure their gluten-free products pass muster in the lab, but most companies are not as rigorous about this. Additionally, the term “gluten-free” is often accompanied by a “depends on the product” statement. So, it is important to read the label and check if a product is or isn’t gluten free.

The Bottom Line

The majority of people with celiac disease will experience a neutral or even favorable reaction after consuming small amounts of gluten. However, a small percentage of people may develop anaphylaxis after eating small amounts of gluten. You can protect yourself by avoiding eating foods that contain gluten. Additionally, some people may experience more negative effects from consuming small amounts of gluten than others. The best way to determine if your JellO is gluten free is to look in the ingredients list. If you know you consume small amounts of gluten, you can take steps to protect yourself by avoiding contaminated ingredients and cross-contamination.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *